Skip to main content
Skip to main navigation
Skip to search

Women of the Well House

Our Mission Statement

Women of the Well House are committed to supporting the philanthropic goals of Indiana University Kokomo students, staff and faculty for the purpose of improving lives and transforming communities, while providing leadership and networking opportunities.

Founded in 1936, the Indiana University Foundation maximizes private support for Indiana University by fostering lifelong relationships with key stakeholders and providing advancement leadership and fundraising services for campuses and units across the university.

About Our Grant Program

Grants are awarded on an annual cycle from the WWH Fund, which is administered by the Indiana University Foundation. WWH members support the fund with annual contributions. Grant applications for 2018 will be available beginning September 1. For more information about grant criteria please contact Cathy Clearwaters, assistant director of development at


  • Angela Smith
  • Annette Rush
  • Brenda Catron
  • Cathy Clearwaters
  • Cathy Valcke
  • Cheryl Currens
  • Christina Downey
  • Dana Davis
  • Emily Brandstatter
  • Gabby Van Alstine
  • Gloria Preece
  • Jan Halperin
  • Judy Golitko
  • Kathleen Ligocki
  • Lisa Smeltzer
  • Mary Ellen Harnish
  • Pat Brandstatter
  • Sarah Sarber
  • Sonnie Neal
  • Susan Sciame-Giesecke
  • Julie Saam
  • Melinda Stanley
  • Annette Russell
  • Jean Rinehart
  • Michelle Bosworth
  • Tracy Martino
  • Leah Nellis
  • Cathy Kern
  • Sarah Polk
  • Melissa Ellis

Past Grant Recipients

Indiana University Kokomo’s Women of the Well House provides funding for various campus and community projects on an annual basis. Below are the past recipients:

2017 Grant Recipients
  • CPR Training for the Campus — Funds will be used to purchase updated Manikins, as required by the American Heart Association, to provide CPR training for students in health professions, as well as others on campus. Students in the Division of Allied Health Sciences must have this certification before beginning internships. Kim Mossburg, lecturer in nutritional science, provides the training.
  • H.O.P.E. Mentoring Program — The program pairs incarcerated juveniles with college mentors, who support the student in his or her effort to avoid recidivism by obtaining and maintaining employment. It currently runs out of the IU Bloomington and IU Kokomo campus. The grant will support travel of IU Kokomo undergraduate students to the Logansport Correctional Facility and Camp Summit, and will fund an undergraduate assistant for Niki Weller, assistant professor of sociology, the IU Kokomo site coordinator.
  • IU Kokomo Cougar Career Experience Externship — About 10 juniors and seniors in humanities programs will shadow IU alumni working in their area of focus, conduct occupational interviews, network, and participate in a business dinner in Charlotte, North Carolina. Brittany Ravas, career and accessibility coordinator, leads the program.
  • Mental Health First Aid Facilitator Training (two grants) – The program teaches how to identify, understand, and respond to signs of mental disorders and substance abuse disorders. Elizabeth Barnett, director of counseling and psychological services, and Audra Dowling, dean of students, will earn certification to provide Mental Health First Aid training to members of the campus and community at large.
  • Philosophy for Children — The program’s goal is to help lower socioeconomic status students, and those classified as slow learners, by offering Philosophy for Children training, focused on critical thinking and reasoning, to area elementary school teachers. Jacob Castleberry, a junior from Kokomo, leads this effort.
  • Teaching PowerPoint and Digital Storytelling to Women in a Domestic Violence Shelter — Funds cover expenses for students in a Using Computers in Education class to teach computer skills to 15 clients in a domestic violence shelter, to help them transition to independence and gain workforce and/or college success. Christina Romero-Ivanova, acting assistant professor of education, teaches the class.
  • Women in Business Student Association WBE trip — Members will visit businesses owned by women in Chicago, to discuss the realities, challenges, and opportunities of being a female entrepreneur and/or executive. It is led by Gabby VanAlstine, director of human resources.
2018 Grant Recipients
  • Philosophy for Children Empirical Study — The grant will provide funding for IU Kokomo student Jacob Castleberry, along with Kathy Holcomb, associate professor of psychology, and Alex Gillham, visiting lecturer in philosophy, to study possible effects of the Philosophy for Children program, and implicit bias. They will partner with a local school to complete the study, with plans to publish the results. 
  • Comparative Mental Health Travel Course — Funding will provide additional educational components, such as museum tickets, to a 10-day trip to Austria and the Netherlands for psychology students, who will learn about mental health care services in the United States and overseas. Rosalyn Davis, clinical assistant professor of psychology, said it also will offset travel costs for students. 
  • Junior Chef Cooking Class — Kim Mossburg, lecturer in nutritional science, will provide culinary and nutritional information to about 15 teen students, to teach them positive dietary habits to improve their health. 
  • IU Kokomo Women in Technology Club — Chen Zhong, assistant professor of informatics, and Hong Liu, assistant professor of computer science, will use the funds to build a community for female students in STEM majors, to encourage peer teaching and engagement in the research program. 
  • Persimmon Sustainability Camp — The camp is a partnership between IU Kokomo and Kokomomentum, an after school program through the Kokomo Schools. Kokomomentum focuses on STEM and serves students grades 2 through 5. IU Kokomo faculty, staff, and students will lead campers in sustainability activities including native gardening, learning about endangered species, wetland restoration, and carbon footprint. Leda Casey, senior lecturer in geology, and student Tabitha Pelgen lead the program. 
  • Destination APA — Attending the American Psychological Association meeting in Chicago. Psychology faculty will take graduate and undergraduate students to conference, for the primary psychological association for professionals throughout the world. Students will have opportunities to present research, network with graduate schools and employers, and learn from world-renowned experts in their field. Rosalyn Davis, clinical assistant professor of psychology, applied for the grant. 
  • Professional Wardrobe for Students — Students from the Women in Business would create a professional wardrobe for students, as both a service learning project and a resource for financially disadvantaged students. Gloria Preece, director of the Master of Business Administration and Master of Public Management programs, applied for the grant.
  • Women in Business Student Association WBE Trip — Funding will be used for members to visit several women-owned businesses in Chicago, and discuss the realities, challenges, and opportunities of being a female and/or minority entrepreneur or executive. Gabby VanAlstine, lecturer in business, applied for the grant.
Last updated: 12/05/2018