IU logo
Indiana University Kokomo
What matters. Where it matters.

Certificate in Labor Studies

This certificate is offered at every IU campus except IU East (Richmond), IU Southeast (New Albany), and Columbus.

Requires 15 hours of core Labor Studies courses and 3 credit hours each in the remaining required areas of learning.

  • Labor Studies Core Courses: 15 credit hours
  • Labor Studies Additional Courses: 3 credit hours
  • Arts and Humanities courses: 3 credit hours
  • Math and Science courses: 3 credit hours
  • Social and Behavioral Science courses: 3 credit hours
  • Electives courses: None required

Total credit hours: 30

Required Areas of Learning

The following are representative subjects in the three major required areas of learning:

Arts and Humanities

  • Afro American Studies
  • Classical Studies
  • Comparative Literature
  • English
  • Fine Arts
  • Folklore and Ethnomusicology
  • History
  • History and Philosophy of Science
  • Journalism
  • Languages
  • Music
  • Philosophy
  • Religious Studies
  • Speech and Communication
  • Theatre and Drama

Physical Science and Mathematics

  • Astronomy
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Computer Science
  • Geological Sciences
  • Mathematics
  • Physics
  • Psychology (Psychology P101 may be applied as either Science and Mathematics or Social and Behavioral Science, depending on the campus.)

Social and Behavioral Sciences

  • Anthropology
  • Economics
  • Geography
  • Linguistics
  • Political Science
  • Psychology
  • Social Work
  • Sociology

What matters. Where it matters.

Privacy Notice